Home arrow Water Polo News arrow European Water Polo News arrow Adriatic League started on 26 September
Adriatic League started on 26 September
Print E-mail
water polo pool Igalo
Pool in Igalo(MNE)
Top clubs from Croatia, Montenegro and Slovenia had agreed to establish a multi-national league to have more interesting club matches over a long period of time. The inaugural season will consist of 12 teams, including seven of the upcoming EuroLeague participants.
The new league is pretty close to a rebirth of the highly competitive Yugoslav league of the 1980s, just the current Serbian champion Partizan “Raiffeisen” Belgrade is missing. At that time the league was equal to the Italian Serie A1 or ever stronger, and the current field of participants could challenge their Italian opponents indeed.
22 game days will be contested until 22 April 2009. The opening match will be an all-Montenegrin duel between EuroLeague newcomer PVK “Budvanska Rivijera” Budva and national champion VK Primorac Kotor, which will already be contested on Friday night. The remaining matches of game day 1 will be held one day later.

Adriatic League 2008-2009
Participants and schedule day 1
Friday, 26 September 2008
PVK “Budvanska Rivijera” Budva (MNE) vs. VK Primorac Kotor (MNE)
Saturday, 27 September 2008
Mornar BS Split (CRO) vs. POŠK Split (CRO)
Primorje EB Rijeka (CRO) vs. Jadran CKB Herceg Novi (MNE)
HAVK Mladost Zagreb (CRO) vs. VK Medveščak (CRO)
VK Šibenik NCP (CRO) vs. VK Koper (SLO)
Jug CO Dubrovnik (CRO) vs. VK Jadran Split (CRO)