Nathan Thomas awarded Quittner Medal
Print E-mail
ImageSydney (November 27).— Former Aussie Sharks skipper Nathan Thomas has been awarded the Quittner Medal for services to Australian water polo.

He gained the accolade at AWPI Board of Directors' meeting here on Sunday, specifically for his services as a player and captain, his role as Athletes’ Commission chairman, and as coach of the NSWIS junior squad. The award will be made to Nathan on Monday, December 17 at the Oceania women’s Olympic qualification match in Brisbane.

The award is in honour of Harry Quittner, the Honorary Life President of AWPI.

Nathan’s major achievements:
3rd, FINA World Cup, Athens, 1993
3rd, World Student Games, Fukuoka, 1995
3rd, World Student Games, Palermo, 1997
4th, FINA World Championships, Perth, 1998
8th, FINA World Cup, Sydney, 1999
1st, Spanish King's Cup, Barcelona, 1998
8th, Olympic Games, Sydney, 2000
10th, World Championships, Fukuoka, 2001
7th, World Championships, Barcelona 2003.

Previous winners have been
1986 Charles Turner
1987 Debbie Cummins
1988 Peter Montgomery
1989 Tom Hoad
1990 Andrew Kerr
1991 John Whitehouse
1992 Chris Wybrow & Debbie Watson
1993 not awarded
1994 Ray Mayers
1995 Pat Jones
1996 Don Cameron
1997-2006 not awarded
2007 Nathan Thomas